Phillip Johnston: soprano, alto sax
Joe Fiedler: trombone
Mike Hashim: baritone sax
Neal Kirkwood: piano
Dave Hofstra: bass
Rob Garcia: drums

Phillip Johnston’s Silent Six first came together as the band for Wordless!, his collaboration with graphic artist Art Spiegelman (Maus). That project premiered at the Sydney Opera House and has appeared at festivals in London, Paris and Buenos Aires and across the United States. The band has begun to make appearances separate from Wordless!, with a repertoire drawn from across Johnston’s career, including early jazz, bop tunes and funky ciphers from his newest CD, Diggin’ Bones.

Philip is well-known as a founder for numerous other bands: The Public Servants, The Microscopic Septet and the Transparent Quartet. In 2001 he formed Fast ‘N’ Bulbous: the music of Captain Beefheart, with ex-Beefheart guitarist Gary Lucas. He also partnered with accordionist Guy Klucevsek and did a recording for Winter & Winter Records (Tales From The Cryptic). In the early 2000s, he worked on Drawn To Death: A Three Panel Opera with Art Spiegelman.

“…intensely beautiful, often poignantly amusing and utterly humane…” (Jazz Journal (UK)).

“Saxophonist/composer Phillip Johnston’s music embodies all that’s good about jazz. It’s honest, original, and inspired, above and beyond the typical. It’s also some of the very smartest and best-humored music to have found a home under the jazz banner.” (Chris Kelsey, Jazziz)